Starting the New Year with a “Sweet” Tradition

Meg cuts the first slice.

Meg cuts the first slice.

Happy New Year! The entire entire Villa Finale staff is back in the office ready to continue our work on this exciting project. While Chris goes back and forth between the historic site and the construction at the visitor center, Meg and I resumed our meetings on exhibits.  We did manage to take a little breather from our busy work, however.

 

Chris takes a big slice but finds nothing.

Chris takes a big slice but finds nothing.

Yesterday, January 6th, was Epiphany and even though I’m far away from home, I wanted to observe the holiday by sharing some of my family’s traditions with my fellow colleagues.  Growing up, it was my family’s custom to have us kids leave our shoes under the Christmas tree the night of January 5th.  The idea was that the Three Wise Men would leave us money overnight in our shoes.  The following day we would cut the traditional Rosca de Reyes (Three Kings Bread) for Epiphany.  

Gladly taking my turn.

Gladly taking my turn.

I’m sure my friends at the office appreciated that I didn’t make them leave their shoes out, but I did pick up a delicious Rosca de Reyes from El Sol Bakery in nearby Southtown for all of us to enjoy.  The bread has a figurine of a baby baked inside (sometimes several figurines) representing baby Jesus.  The tradition is that the person or persons who get a figurine in a slice of bread throw a small feast for everyone else on February 2nd, Candlemas Day.  Who was the lucky recipient of our bread’s figurine?  There are a few slices left so we’re still waiting to find out!

 I’m so glad many of the same customs I’ve grown up with are observed here in San Antonio, a city with many cultural traditions.  I’m looking forward to a productive 2009 and having others share their traditions with me.

Leave a Reply

